Skip to content

Another opening change

May 14, 2012

After a few King’s Indian Defense rounds in a Chess.com correspondence tournament, I’m realizing that opening just doesn’t fit my tactical style. It’s an attacking opening, but one that’s heavy on alternate side pawn attacks in a closed center, and I don’t have a good feel for when defensive moves or attacking moves are necessary in those positions.

So, to finish my transition from a hodgepodge of opening choices in my scholastic years to a repertoire that fits my calculating, tactical style, my new response to 1. d4 will be the Grunfeld. It’s certainly become a lot more popular lately among GMs, and had a very good showing in round 1 if the World Championships, with Anand having to salvage a draw from a weaker position as White.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

